My Flutter Journey

My Flutter Journey

My journey of becoming a flutter app developer

Hello there! I hope you are doing great. In this article, I want to share my Flutter journey and how I learned the framework, eventually landing my first internship during my second year of college.

It all started in June 2020, during the Covid lockdown, when I first discovered Flutter. Intrigued by its potential, I began researching and watching YouTube videos to learn more about it. However, I soon realized that the content available on YouTube was not well-organized, and I struggled to gain momentum in my learning journey. Determined to succeed, I decided to enroll in a Udemy course at a nominal cost of just Rs 400 INR, or $4 USD.

Initially, driven by my eagerness to build an app, I made the mistake of skipping the basic concepts and diving straight into advanced topics. Predictably, I faced challenges and started doubting whether Flutter was the right choice for me. However, this setback served as a valuable lesson. I acknowledged my mistake and returned to the fundamentals, starting from scratch. This time, I focused on building my own applications step by step.

I began my journey by creating a Facebook clone, which helped me grasp the core concepts of Flutter. As I gained more confidence, I proceeded to learn how to integrate Firebase, Flutter, and state management. During my internship, I had the opportunity to expand my knowledge further by exploring advanced state management techniques such as GetX and the MVC architecture.

Based on my experience, I would like to offer some advice to those who are aspiring to learn Flutter:

  1. Start by mastering the basics of Flutter and the Dart programming language.

  2. Develop a strong understanding of Object-Oriented Programming (OOP) concepts, as they form the foundation of Flutter development.

  3. Begin your journey by building user interfaces (UIs). This will help you familiarize yourself with Flutter's widget system and design principles.

  4. Learn how to integrate APIs and Firebase services into your Flutter applications. This will enable you to fetch data and provide dynamic functionality to your apps.

  5. Explore different state management solutions, such as GetX or Provider, to efficiently manage the state of your Flutter application. This will make your code more organized and scalable.

  6. Seek opportunities to land an internship, as it provides invaluable practical experience and exposure to real-world development scenarios.

  7. Once you have gained some experience through internships, utilize platforms like LinkedIn, AngelList, or Internshala to find job opportunities in the Flutter development domain.

By following these steps, you can pave your way towards landing an internship and eventually securing a job in Flutter development. Remember, learning Flutter requires perseverance, a solid foundation in programming concepts, and practical experience in building applications. With dedication and continuous learning, you can achieve your goals in the exciting world of Flutter development.